A Gluten-Free Vegan Mom Who Knows

A raw, grain-free, corn-free, soy-free, oil-free, celiac mama raising her two healthy celiac girls.

Gluten-Free Spices (Master List)

| 1 Comment

14 manufacturers confirmed as of November 29th…



Gluten-Free Products Manufactured in a Gluten-Free Facilities:

  • Aloha Spice Company: “Yes, our spices are gluten free. We only package spices in our facility, and do not process any gluten or flour products” (email: 02 October 2011).
  • Spicy Gourmet: “Most of our spices are whole spices. Those that do come in a powdered form do not contain silicon dioxide or ‘fillers’. All our spices are pure spices and gluten free. The facility where our spices are processed do not process any type of grain that may contain gluten” (email: 02 October 2011). 
  • tsp Spices: “Our spices are 100% organic, which means that they are pure spice, with no additives or fillers and therefore no gluten.” Second Response: “I have a close friend with a violent (literally!) allergy to gluten. She uses our spices exclusively and has had no problem. In fact, when she used other brands she had thought she was allergic to some spices. It turned out to be the fillers and additives.” Third Response: “They are not the only products manufactured in the facility. But they are packaged in a sealed room, with thorough cleaning before and after each spice is processed. This is required by our organic certification.” Fourth and Final Response: “No [the answer to: “do any of the other products manufactured/packaged in the same room as your spices contain gluten ingredients?”]. These are small rooms that handle only one product” (email: 02 October 2011). 



Pretty darn close…

  • Penzey’s Spices: “None of our spices or blends contain any sort of gluten in them, the label indicates everything that is in that jar/bag.  The only product that does contain gluten is our Beef Soup Base.  All of our soup bases are produced at a different site, so as a general rule of thumb we recommend to stay away from all of our soup bases as we can not guarantee that there is no cross contamination.  As a company, we can not claim that we are a gluten free facility as we have a test kitchen on site that does contain flour.  The blending and packaging room is completely separate from the kitchen, but legally we can not advertise our blends as being ‘gluten free’” (email: 03 October 2011).



To be, or not to be gluten free…

  • Frontier Co-op (Frontier, Aura Cacia, Simply Organic): ”Although the ingredients themselves do not contain gluten , frontier is not an allergen free facility, thus we do not state that any of our products are allergen free. We follow strict GMPs (Good Manufacturing Practices) to minimize the potential for cross-contamination, but do not test for the presence of allergens in our final products. 
    Gluten is present in our facility, so we are not able to state positively that our products are gluten-free. We do have full ingredient disclosure on our products. 
    However, we have just added a few products to our line that are now gluten free.  Our mixes are in an area that is enclosed.  The area is scrubbed down before blending and no other products are blended at the time the mixes are being packaged.  They test before and after blending for the presence of gluten. 

    We are in the process of being a gluten free facility within the next few months so you will want to watch for that announcement” (email: 03 October 2011). ”

    Frontier is not an allergen free facility, thus we do not state that any of our products are allergen free. We follow strict GMPs (Good Manufacturing Practices) to minimize the potential for cross-contamination, but do not test for the presence of allergens in our final products.Gluten is present in our facility, so we are not able to state positively that our products are gluten-free. We do have full ingredient disclosure on our products. However, we have just added a few products (baking mixes) to our line that are now gluten free. Our baking mixes are in an area that is enclosed. The area is scrubbed down before blending and no other products are blended at the time the baking mixes are being packaged. They test before and after blending for the presence of gluten. The list of mixes: Organic Banana Bread Mix, Organic Carrot Cake Mix, Organic Chai Spice Scone Mix, Organic Cocoa Biscotti Mix, Organic Cocoa Cayenne Cupcakes, Organic Fudge Brownie Mix, and Organic Pancake/Waffle Mix. [GOOD NEWS!!] We are in the process of being a gluten free facility within the next couple of months. We need to discontinue a few of our products before we can state we are a gluten free facility.” (email 25 April 2011).

  • High Quality Organics: “We do not claim our products a gluten free as we carry products that contain gluten” HQO Allergen Statement (email: 03 October 2011).
  • McCormick: “Since the late 1990′s, McCormick has used “Plain English” allergen labeling to communicate our product ingredients to our consumers.  Gluten is listed as “wheat” or “barley” in our ingredient statements…If a product does not have an ingredient statement, it is a pure spice or herb with nothing added and contains no added glutens.  In addition, the alcohol in all of our retail extracts is not from grain and is gluten free.  Because we are constantly improving our products, we do not offer a list of our products that do not currently contain glutens.  We encourage you to read the ingredient statement on your package at the time of purchase to ensure accurate, up to date information. In addition, we follow good manufacturing practices at our plants.  Our employees are trained in the importance of correct labeling and the necessity of performing thorough equipment wash-downs to eliminate cross-contact of ingredients. Although we cannot guarantee our products to be 100% free of allergens not listed on the label, we want you to know that we take this situation seriously and have taken extra precautions to eliminate the possibility of mislabeling or cross-contact” (email: 25 April 2011).
  • Mountain Rose Herbs: “Unfortunately we are not currently a certified gluten-free facility. Our facility handles a few products which contain trace amounts of gluten including wheatgrass powder, oat straw, etc., and because of this we cannot officially call our facility ‘gluten free.’ However, we do take every precaution to avoid any cross contamination whenever and wherever possible. For instance, in the case of botanicals which may contain gluten, we store and process those in a separate area from other materials, and we use dedicated scoops and other equipment specifically for these products. We feel this provides adequate protections against gluten contamination, but once again this practice alone does not allow us to call our facility gluten free. Depending on your sensitivity (or the sensitivity of your family members) our methods may or may not be adequate for your needs. We do appreciate your concerns and are grateful for customers like you who take the time to give us valuable feedback regarding your needs and concerns. Please know that we are looking into the possibility of having our facility certified as gluten free but this may take some time” (email: 27 November 2011).
  • Monterey Bay Spice Company: “As far as we know all of our herbs/spices we process here are gluten free. Unfortunately it is difficult for us to know exactly what the status is of the various farms and plants that we deal with throughout the world where most of our spices come from. So, although we know that in our facility there is no gluten we cannot guarantee that each herb or spice that we purchased for example from Egypt might container gluten” (email: 03 October 2011). 
  • Pereg Spices: “Our spices are gluten free, all of our spices are pure and we don’t add any additives! Please note although the spices are gluten free, we do have gluten items in the facility” (After a follow up email, I got this response) “The facility is not gluten free, we are working on this and should be in the coming few months” (email: 16 August 2011).
  • Teeny Tiny SpicesAll of our raw spices are certified organic and come to us labeled as gluten free.  Our organic coffee (Perfection Blend),  organic maple sugar and salt are not labeled as gluten free, but I have no reason to think that there is any gluten in them.  Our production facility is not certified gluten free nor do we have any specific gluten-free protocol, but we do not have any gluten products in that room (our production facility is a certified organic and state health department licensed room in our home), nor do we produce any products with gluten.  So, if you are avoiding gluten for any reason other than an anaphylactic reaction, I would feel very comfortable with any of our products.  I only qualify the anaphylactic reaction since our home is not gluten free and I am not sure what exactly goes into guaranteeing that a product is 100% infallibly gluten-free (email: 09 June 2011).
  • Urban AcceptsMost (over 95%) of our products are gluten-free. However, our gluten-free products may be manufactured in facility that processed gluten products” (email: 04 October 2011). 


I’m waiting to hear back from five more spice companies.

Much Love!
Priscilla
Follow gfveganmomknows on Twitter

One Comment

  1. I love you so much! I thought I was just being paranoid when I thought it might be the garlic and onion powder I was reacting to. We use fifth season (repackaged mccormick from what I’ve read), and this explains everything. Thank you for doing this research!

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.