A Gluten-Free Vegan Mom Who Knows

A raw, grain-free, corn-free, soy-free, oil-free, celiac mama raising her two healthy celiac girls.

Gluten-Free Foods and Facilities (Master List)

| 12 Comments

I have decided to compile gluten-free food products on my blog. If you have anything to add, please email me or post your findings in the comment section below the proper.


77 manufacturers confirmed as of February 24th….



Gluten-Free Products Manufactured in a Gluten-Free Facilities:

    • Almondie: “Yes! Our raw butters are gluten free and manufactured in a gluten-free facility” (email: 27 October 2011). 
    • Ancient Harvest Quinoa: “As a grain, quinoa is gluten free. Our Ancient Harvest Quinoa is grown exclusively in the high Andean Altiplano regions of Bolivia. Our quinoa is grown at 12,000+ foot elevations in very arid conditions which will not support traditional gluten bearing grain production, therefore insuring us no possibility of potential field contamination with such grains. Our Traditional, Inca Red and Black whole grain quinoa is then cleaned, processed and packed in our quinoa-only organic and gluten free facilities. Our Ancient Harvest Quinoa, Quinoa Flour, Gluten Free Pasta Corn/Quinoa Product Line and Food Merchant Polenta are all processed in specialized gluten free facilities in the United States. This assures us of the highest quality integrity and frequent shorter production runs for fresher product delivered to our customers. Our Quinoa Flakes are now also processed in a gluten free facility” (website: 08 May 2011)
    • Artisana: “Our facility is free of peanuts, soy, gluten and dairy” (website: 27 August 2011).
    • Bard Valley: “Medjool dates are completely gluten free.” (website: 28 April 2011) …Call 928-726-0901 Ask for Chris Denning or Dave Nelson.
    • Betty Crocker: Q: Are the Betty Crocker® Gluten Free Dessert Mixes made in a gluten free processing facility? Yes. Is Betty Crocker® frosting gluten free? All flavors of Betty Crocker Ready-to-Spread Frosting will be labeled “gluten free” this Fall” (website 08 May 2011). 
    • Bob’s Red Mill (GF): “All of our products marked with our gluten free symbol are produced in a dedicated facility and batch tested for gluten content. For a complete list of our gluten free products, click here. If an item does not appear on this list, it is not produced in our gluten free facility.” (website: 27 April 2011) 
    • Braga Organic Farms: “Yes, all of our products are gluten free and our facility too” (email: 02 May 2011).
    • Bremner Farms: “Yes, we are completely gluten free here” (email: 21 November 2011).
    • Canyon Bake House: ”YES, we are a dedicated GF facility!” (email: 10 May 2011)
    • Coconut Secret: There should be no possibility of cross-contamination with any of our products.  We have a different co-packer for our dry and liquid products.  The three liquid products – Coconut Nectar, Aminos and Vinegar – are handled at a gluten-free bottling facility.  The dry products – Coconut Crystals and Flour – are hand filled in a separate room of the packing facility to avoid any possibility of cross contamination.  In addition, we have arranged to be the first ‘run’ of the day when the machinery is fully cleaned and dry;  and we hold our co-packers to the most stringent standards for allergen cleaning.  If it helps put your mind at ease, while I receive inquiries from people every day who have similar concerns to yours, not a single time has anyone reported back to me a reaction to our products” (email 27 July 2011).
    • Daiya: “Daiya is free of many common allergens including soy, dairy (casein and lactose), gluten, eggs, rice, peanuts and tree nuts (except coconut oil).  We have our own dedicated production facility that is free of all these allergens, eliminating the potential of cross contamination” (email: 07 March 2012).
    • Earth Balance: “We are happy to report that all of our products are Gluten-Free. Some of our spreads are made in facilities where gluten is present, but none of the products are run on the same lines” (email: 28 November 2011).
    • Ener G: “Yes we are a 100% Gluten, Dairy Free, and Nut Free manufacturing company” (email: 09 May 2011).
    • Enjoy Life: “Enjoy Life products are manufactured in a dedicated gluten-free and nut-free bakery and our ingredient suppliers are required to complete non-contamination certificates. We test ingredients upon arrival for gluten to 5 parts per million.  We are also certified by the gluten-free certification organization (GFCO), which uses the highest standards for gluten-free ingredients and safe processing environments. In fact, the GFCO’s standards exceed the requirements of current government laws and regulations.  Oh yea, and they taste great too!!” (email: 06 July 2011).
    • Glutenfreeda: “Yes, all of our products are manufactured in our dedicated gluten-free

      facility” (email: 09 May 2011).

    • Gluten Free Pantry (Glutino): ”Our stringent quality control processes go beyond industry standards and each of our products must pass an extensive internal testing process. Once samples are collected, they are sent to an external lab for independent testing. Our gluten-free products are not distributed until we verify acceptable levels of gluten at less than 20ppm (parts per million) through these tests” (website: 08 May 2011). ”Our products are made in gluten free facilities. The pretzels are GMO free as well as our crackers, breadsticks, cereals, breadcrumbs, breakfast bars, organic bars as well as all of the Gluten Free Pantry Mixes except the Yankee Cornbread and Muffin Mix” (email: 09 May 2011).
    • Glutino (Gluten Free Pantry): ”Our stringent quality control processes go beyond industry standards and each of our products must pass an extensive internal testing process. Once samples are collected, they are sent to an external lab for independent testing. Our gluten-free products are not distributed until we verify acceptable levels of gluten at less than 20ppm (parts per million) through these tests” (website: 08 May 2011). ”Our products are made in gluten free facilities.
      The pretzels are GMO free as well as our crackers, breadsticks, cereals, breadcrumbs, breakfast bars, organic bars as well as all of the Gluten Free Pantry Mixes except the Yankee Cornbread and Muffin Mix” (email: 09 May 2011).
    • Hail MerryWe are a certified gluten-free facility and operate it ourselves. Our third partner, Ali Brushaber, is a food scientist and commercial chef and is applying what she has learned about food safety and quality assurance to our non-cooking FDA inspected kitchen. She has worked to select suppliers and ingredients that are whole food sources and she and Susan collaborate on product development. The core line was created by Susan in her home and she and Ali have found ways to scale us without compromise of standards or introduction of fillers, or chemicals. Hail Merry is very much about purity” (email: 04 July 2011). 
    • KinnikinnickOur facilities are dedicated gluten & nut free. At this time we make no claims for GMO or organic” (email: 09 May 2011).
    • Late July Organics: “Our chips are made in two facilities, both of which are gluten-free facility.  Our organic multigrain chips are also certified gluten-free” (email: 29 December 2011). 
    • Love Street Living Foods: “ Yes, our facility is gluten-free” (email: 06 December 2011). 

      What makes Love Street different?
          •    Living (Raw) and/or Organic: all nutrients, enzymes, vitamins, and minerals bio-available as nutrition
          •    All vegan (with the exceptions of pure raw organic honey) 
          •    Free from toxins and carcinogens created when food is cooked    
          •    100% unprocessed
          •    No genetically modified organisms (GMOs)
          •    Grown without pesticides and fertilizers
          •    Free from contamination by human or industrial waste
          •    Processed without ionizing radiation or food additives
          •    No animal testing
      We do not use:
          •    dairy
          •    refined sugars
          •    hydrogenated oils
          •    gluten
          •    soy
          •    natural flavors (as seen on conventional food labels)
          •    MSG (Monosodium glutamate)
          •    food additives or preservatives
          •    pesticides
          •    refined flour
    • Lucy’s: “Yes, we make all of our products in our own certified gluten free bakery.  This allows us to provide the very best safety and quality for our customers” (email: 8 August 2011). 
    • Lundberg Farms: Yes, all of our facilities are Gluten free and we use dedicated equipment.” (email 28 April 2011)
    • Navitas Naturals: “Yes. All of our products are gluten free. Our facility in gluten free as well” (email: 19 August 2011).
    • Nuts Online: “We have both gluten-free and non gluten-free products. They are both processed in our facility but in two different areas so there is no cross contamination. If you click on an item and it is Certified Gluten Free then you can be assured it is processed in a separate section of our warehouse. If it is NOT certified gluten free then it is processed with our gluten products.” I specifically asked about their macadamia nuts and pine nuts – here is their response: “The macadamia nuts (not any of the chocolate covered) and pine nuts are all gluten free and processed with only gluten free products. We do obtain the Gluten-Free Certification from our manufactures that ensure us that they are not processed with any gluten items as well” (email: 30 December 2011). 
    • Omega Nutrition ”Omega Nutrition products are manufactured in a gluten-free, casein-free environment. No rye, barley, oats, peanuts, wheat, soy, dairy nor any tree nut products are produced at the same facility” (email: 10 June 2011).
    • Once Again“Yes, are product are Gluten Free and manufactured in Gluten Free facility.” (email 03 May 2011)
    • Oskri: ”Oskri manufacturers various products and as you will find all of the Oskri products are Gluten Free except for the Barley Coffee.  Oskri’s Barley coffee is manufactured in a separate facility allowing our facility to be Gluten Free” (email: 09 May 2011).
    • Smarty Bars: “You bet they are gluten free, which is why the Gluten Free Girl has given them her approval :) And, yes, they are manufactured in a gluten-free facility” (06 November 2011). 
    • Sunstart: “Sunstart USA desserts and cookies are all tenderly baked to perfection in a fully dedicated allergen/wheat FREE state of the art facility. *Also a nut free facility. All products are FREE FROM Gluten, Wheat, Egg, and Hydrogenated Fats and Oils” (website: 11 May 2011).
    • Tribe Hummus“Tribe Hummus does not contain any gluten or wheat ingredients, and there is no gluten or wheat present in our manufacturing process.  Although we are not certified “gluten free,” hummus is naturally a gluten-free food. Periodically, we test our products for gluten to be certain the levels meet the proposed FDA limits” (email: 22 November 2011). “Yes, our manufacturing plant is also gluten free” (email: 28 November 2011).
    • truRoots: “Yes all of our products are gluten-free. We manufacture all of our products in a gluten-free facility” (email: 22 February 2012).
    • Udi’s Food: Our gluten free products are made in a completely 100% gluten, nut, soy, and dairy free facility.  The only products that are not nut and dairy free are our granolas and cookies and they are made in a completely different facility” (email: 14 June 2011).

 

Companies with gluten-free products manufactured in a gluten-free facility but also with gluten-free products manufactured in a facility that also manufactures gluten. 

  • Nutiva: “None of the products that Nutiva sells have gluten in the ingredients.  In order to designate “gluten free” on your label the product must be processed in a plant that does not process other gluten products.  Our 8 and 13 oz and 3 and 5lb Organic Shelled Hempseeds meet this criteria. All of our coconut oil is packaged on a dedicated line that does not process any gluten ingredients. The plant does process gluten products in another area of the facility. Our hemp oil is also processed on a dedicated line that does not process any gluten ingredients, in a plant that processes gluten. The gluten products are processed in a sealed powder room in another section of the facility. Our protein powders and hempshakes are also produced in that plant, in the same sealed room as the gluten products, on the same equipment. The production takes place at different times and the equipment is washed and sterilized between production runs as is required by law. Our bars are produced in a separate plant from our other products, that has no soy, dairy, or egg. There is oatmeal processed here which many people with gluten issues have problems with even though pure oats don’t technically have gluten. The oats used here are certified organic but are not certified gluten free. Oats are often contaminated by wheat.” (email 03 May 2011)



Foods I personally got gluten sick from:



To be, or not to be gluten free…

  • Amy’s Kitchen: “Amy’s Kitchen recognizes the needs of our customers who have allergies or sensitivities to nuts, gluten, certain spices, etc. Amy’s always fully discloses all ingredients (except for specific spices used in the product) on the ingredient statement and will answer any questions that will help consumers decide what products they can safely consume. At Amy’s we take every precaution to ensure that cross contamination of ingredients does not occur in our production facility but we want you to know that this product was produced in a plant that processes foods containing wheat, milk, soy, tree nuts and seeds. Amy’s Kitchen does not use any peanuts, fish, shellfish or eggs” (website: 07 May 2011)
  • Annie’s: ”Annie’s fully discloses all ingredients on our ingredient statement, and also lists any dietary benefits and allergen advisories.  All of our manufacturing facilities meet with the highest standards of cleanliness, and have complete, documented and audited food safety programs.  Allergen handling and control is one of our mandated food safety programs to address the handling and processing of the top eight allergens (Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Milk, Egg, Soy, Wheat (Gluten), Fish and Shell Fish).  Ingredients containing allergens are marked and segregated.  Mixing, batching, and packaging processes are fully documented and audited to avoid any cross-contamination.  Equipment is completely washed after handling a specific allergen.  Annie’s products labeled as Gluten Free meet the proposed US and Canadian Gluten Free standards of less than 20ppm” (email: 10 May 2011).
  • Applegate Farms: “Are gluten-free products are not manufactured in a entirely gluten free facility.We do have various safety checks in place, in order to avoid cross-contamination.In regard to cross contamination, our products are manufactured in accordance with specific operating procedures to ensure that there is no contact with allergenic ingredients. Applegate Farms’ products are always the first production run of the day, and the equipment used is thoroughly cleaned and sanitized before production.We do in fact test our, Gluten Free Chicken Nuggets though” (email: 09 December 2011).
  • Arbonne:All products are manufactured in facilities where the batch runs are sterilized between runs. It is very possible that products are manufactured on the same equipment that other products that contain milk and wheat are; however, our manufacturers follow very strict standard operating procedures in regards to the cleansing and sanitation of the equipment in between batches of product.  We are not aware of any occurrences where someone had sensitivity as a result of the contamination of manufacturing equipment“ (email: 27 October 2011). “100% of our products are formulated w/o gluten but made in a facility that processes milk, eggs, tree nuts, soy and wheat” (email 25 May 2011). Arbonne Products Formulated Without Gluten
  • ArrowheadWhile we do not have a gluten free facility, we do have very strict allergen controls and follow excellent manufacturing practices to minimize any cross contact possibilities. Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling. We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation” (email: 31 May 2011).
  • Azur Nuts: No. The facility is not gluten-free” (email: 15 August 2011).
  • Back to Nature: “To make sure our consumers have the best source of information, gluten-containing ingredients are always listed on our ingredient label, no matter how small the amount. We list ingredients that are a source of gluten on our label’s ingredient statement in commonly known terms, such as wheat, barley, oats or rye. For other gluten-containing ingredients, the grain source is declared in parentheses after the ingredient name. For example, if a natural flavor ingredient contains a gluten source that is not otherwise declared on the ingredient statement, the label would read: natural flavor (contains rye). Examples of other grains that contain gluten are triticale, spelt, kamut, mir and farina and, if included in our products, they are labeled. While the majority of Back to Nature products DO contain gluten (as listed on our ingredient lines), we also offer a line of Gluten Free Rice Thins Crackers (White Cheddar, Sesame Seed, and Multi-Seed) that are not currently manufactured with gluten in our recipe. However, as formulas change, we always recommend that you read the ingredient lines before you purchase” (website: 08 May 2011) Followup email pending. 
  • Blue Diamond: Allysa, my dedicated blog reader wrote, ”Also, the company Blue Diamond makes Nut Chips that I recently picked up and liked, but they contradict themselves on their bag. The front says Gluten Free, and on the back it says, we monitor our products to be sure they carry less than 40 ppm (parts per million) of gluten.” (Email: 13 April 2011)
  • Cascadian FarmWe will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, organic malt, semolina, Durham, triticale, and spelt. We do not include gluten containing ingredients in the ‘Natural Flavors’ or ‘Spices’ on the product ingredient list. If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed. If there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires. We constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, therefore the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated” (email: 11 May 2011)
  • De BolesWhile we do not have a gluten free facility, we do have very strict allergen controls and follow excellent manufacturing practices to minimize any cross contact possibilities. Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling. We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation” (email: 31 May 2011).
  • Dream (Rice/Soy/Chocolate…)While we do not have a gluten free facility, we do have very strict allergen controls and follow excellent manufacturing practices to minimize any cross contact possibilities. Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling. We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation” (email: 31 May 2011).
  • EnviroKidzNature’s Path Granola and Granola Bars are not gluten free due to the oats. Nature’s Path Food has many products that are made without wheat, rye, barley or oats. There is some discussion regarding the inclusion of oats. It seems that the protein in oats does not do damage, but the concern is the possibility of cross contamination of a gluten containing grain in the field or during the milling process. Therefore, at this time in North America most oats are not acceptable in a gluten free diet and organic gluten free oats are not available in the quantities required for our products. We do make other cereals that contain gluten. However, our strict production schedules and quality assurance methods ensure that the least sensitive foods are produced first. The products that contain gluten, soy and finally nuts are made and then the entire line is cleaned and the process re-starts. The equipment and cereal is periodically inspected & tested for gluten contamination. To ensure the safety or our gluten free products, ingredients used in gluten free products are stored in a segregated area of the facility. Before each product is made, we do a full allergen clean-up on the production lines. We use various cleaning methods such as rinsing, hot scrubber machines, vacuums and organic compliant cleaning solution followed by protein tests on the equipment. Cleaning is supervised and checked off by Q.A. To further ensure that our equipments is free of gluten, a specified portion — at the beginning of the run — is not utilized in gluten-free cereals. A sample of the final gluten free product is tested specifically for gluten to 20ppm as per regulatory requirements for gluten free products in North America. We are confident that our gluten free products are ACCEPTABLE for those following a gluten free diet” (email: 10 May 2011).
  • Earth’s BestWhile we do not have a gluten free facility, we do have very strict allergen controls and follow excellent manufacturing practices to minimize any cross contact possibilities. Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling. We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation” (email: 31 May 2011).
  • Feel Good Foods: “All of Feel Good Foods’ products are completely gluten free. It is important to note that Feel Good Foods’ products are manufactured in a facility that also processes wheat, gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, fish, shellfish, dairy, soy and eggs. However, we enforce strict safety measures to ensure that cross contamination DOES NOT occur in the production facility. At Feel Good Foods, the customer is our utmost priority, and we’re dedicated to giving you a stress-free, delicious dining experience. Feel Good Foods fully discloses all of its ingredients on the packaging; please contact us with any questions or concerns about our products” (website: 07 May 2011).
  • Frontier Co-op (Frontier, Aura Cacia, Simply Organic):Frontier is not an allergen free facility, thus we do not state that any of our products are allergen free. We follow strict GMPs (Good Manufacturing Practices) to minimize the potential for cross-contamination, but do not test for the presence of allergens in our final products.
    Gluten is present in our facility, so we are not able to state positively that our products are gluten-free. We do have full ingredient disclosure on our products. However, we have just added a few products (baking mixes) to our line that are now gluten free. Our baking mixes are in an area that is enclosed. The area is scrubbed down before blending and no other products are blended at the time the baking mixes are being packaged. They test before and after blending for the presence of gluten. The list of mixes: Organic Banana Bread Mix, Organic Carrot Cake Mix, Organic Chai Spice Scone Mix, Organic Cocoa Biscotti Mix, Organic Cocoa Cayenne Cupcakes, Organic Fudge Brownie Mix, and Organic Pancake/Waffle Mix. 
    [GOOD NEWS!!] We are in the process of being a gluten free facility within the next couple of months. We need to discontinue a few of our products before we can state we are a gluten free facility.” (email 25 April 2011).
  • Gluten Free CafeWhile we do not have a gluten free facility, we do have very strict allergen controls and follow excellent manufacturing practices to minimize any cross contact possibilities. Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling. We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation” (email: 31 May 2011).
  • HainWhile we do not have a gluten free facility, we do have very strict allergen controls and follow excellent manufacturing practices to minimize any cross contact possibilities. Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling. We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation” (email: 31 May 2011).
  • Ian’s: “The World Health Organization recommends that the gluten level in any wheat-free/gluten-free food not exceed 20 mg/kg; Ian’s secures independent laboratory testing to ensure that our wheat-free, gluten-free products fall well below this World Health Organization requirement. Wheat-free/gluten-free cookies: These products are manufactured in a plant that does contain wheat. Machinery is sanitized, and the finished product is tested using the ELISA method to meet gluten-free standards as determine by the World Health Organization. Cookies are not tested for any other common allergen and do not claim to be free of any other allergens besides wheat and gluten. Chocolate chips in Buttons may be cross-contaminated with milk. There are tree nuts and peanuts in the cookie facility, but these ingredients are not used on the same equipment” (website: 07 May 2011) Email pending for further cross-contamination information. 
  • Imagine Foods: “All varieties except Organic Creamy Chicken and Imagine Bistro™ Bisques are gluten free” (website: 07 May 2011). “While we do not have a gluten free facility, we do have very strict allergen controls and follow excellent manufacturing practices to minimize any cross contact possibilities. Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling. We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation” (email: 31 May 2011).
  • India Tree: “Contains no gluten ingredients. From India Tree: ‘During manufacture, we and our suppliers make every effort to avoid cross contamination. However, we cannot guarantee that such contamination will not occur. India Tree sugars contain no grain or gluten. However, we do package popping corn in our facility. Some decorating sugars and Party Decoratifs are manufactured in facilities where nuts are also processed.’ Additional information from the manufacturer: They do not carry any dairy products.” (Website: 15 April 2011)
  • Kim and Scott’s Gourmet PretzelsOur pretzels are not manufactured in a gluten free facility. Gluten Free pretzels are produced on clean and sanitized equipment as first product of the day.  All gluten free packaging materials and ingredients are segregated from standard stocks.  No additional production is initiated until all GF is packaged. 1)  Ingredients for the gluten Free items are stored in sealed containers. 2)  All ingredients, hand tools, gloves, hairnets, etc. used for other items are either cleaned and sanitized or removed from the production, baking, and packaging areas. 3)  The production, baking, and packaging areas are washed down with particular attention given to the product contact areas. 4)  Personnel are routed from the personnel areas to the production areas so that they do not come in contact with ingredients that might contain gluten. 5)  Only the sealed containers of ingredients for the gluten free product are brought into the production areas after the area has been cleaned. 6)  Production, baking and packaging areas are kept sealed off until the gluten free product is produced and packaged. 7)  To assure results, finished gluten free products are randomly sampled and checked for possible gluten contamination (email: 20 May 2011).
  • Kind Snacks: “Our products are tested for gluten and meet FDA’s proposed requirement of 20ppm (0.002%) of gluten. Our manufacturing plant is dedicated gluten free and has a strict allergen control program” (website: 07 May 2011) 
  • LaraBarWe will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, organic malt, semolina, Durham, triticale, and spelt. We do not include gluten containing ingredients in the ‘Natural Flavors’ or ‘Spices’ on the product ingredient list. If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed. If there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires. We constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, therefore the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated” (email: 11 May 2011).
  • Living Tree Community: “Our products are gluten-free; they are manufactured in a facility that we share with another company that uses wheat as an ingredient” (email: 15 January 2012).
  • McCormick: “Since the late 1990′s, McCormick has used “Plain English” allergen labeling to communicate our product ingredients to our consumers.  Gluten is listed as “wheat” or “barley” in our ingredient statements…If a product does not have an ingredient statement, it is a pure spice or herb with nothing added and contains no added glutens.  In addition, the alcohol in all of our retail extracts is not from grain and is gluten free.  Because we are constantly improving our products, we do not offer a list of our products that do not currently contain glutens.  We encourage you to read the ingredient statement on your package at the time of purchase to ensure accurate, up to date information. In addition, we follow good manufacturing practices at our plants.  Our employees are trained in the importance of correct labeling and the necessity of performing thorough equipment wash-downs to eliminate cross-contact of ingredients. Although we cannot guarantee our products to be 100% free of allergens not listed on the label, we want you to know that we take this situation seriously and have taken extra precautions to eliminate the possibility of mislabeling or cross-contact.” (email: 25 April 2011) 
  • Mi-Del: “MI-DEL Gluten-Free Cookies are safe for a person with Celiac Disease. The bakery that makes MI-DEL Gluten-Free Cookies adheres to the Codex Alimentarius standard – the international gluten-free food standard for manufacturers.
 The current Codex gluten-free standard specifies a gluten limit of 200 parts per million (ppm). MI-DEL Gluten-Free products consistently fall well below 200 ppm. In fact, MI-DEL gluten-free products consistently test below twenty (20) ppm. 
Utilizing ELISA methodology, product samples are tested at the beginning, middle, and end of each production run. Every batch of gluten-free flour blend is also tested prior 
to mixing” (website: 08 May 2011).
  • Mountain Rose Herbs: “Unfortunately we are not currently a certified gluten-free facility. Our facility handles a few products which contain trace amounts of gluten including wheatgrass powder, oat straw, etc., and because of this we cannot officially call our facility ‘gluten free.’ However, we do take every precaution to avoid any cross contamination whenever and wherever possible. For instance, in the case of botanicals which may contain gluten, we store and process those in a separate area from other materials, and we use dedicated scoops and other equipment specifically for these products. We feel this provides adequate protections against gluten contamination, but once again this practice alone does not allow us to call our facility gluten free. Depending on your sensitivity (or the sensitivity of your family members) our methods may or may not be adequate for your needs. We do appreciate your concerns and are grateful for customers like you who take the time to give us valuable feedback regarding your needs and concerns. Please know that we are looking into the possibility of having our facility certified as gluten free but this may take some time” (email: 27 November 2011).
  • Muir GlenWe will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, organic malt, semolina, Durham, triticale, and spelt. We do not include gluten containing ingredients in the ‘Natural Flavors’ or ‘Spices’ on the product ingredient list. If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed. If there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires. We constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, therefore the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated” (email: 11 May 2011).
  • Nature’s PathNature’s Path Granola and Granola Bars are not gluten free due to the oats. Nature’s Path Food has many products that are made without wheat, rye, barley or oats. There is some discussion regarding the inclusion of oats. It seems that the protein in oats does not do damage, but the concern is the possibility of cross contamination of a gluten containing grain in the field or during the milling process. Therefore, at this time in North America most oats are not acceptable in a gluten free diet and organic gluten free oats are not available in the quantities required for our products. We do make other cereals that contain gluten. However, our strict production schedules and quality assurance methods ensure that the least sensitive foods are produced first. The products that contain gluten, soy and finally nuts are made and then the entire line is cleaned and the process re-starts. The equipment and cereal is periodically inspected & tested for gluten contamination. To ensure the safety or our gluten free products, ingredients used in gluten free products are stored in a segregated area of the facility. Before each product is made, we do a full allergen clean-up on the production lines. We use various cleaning methods such as rinsing, hot scrubber machines, vacuums and organic compliant cleaning solution followed by protein tests on the equipment. Cleaning is supervised and checked off by Q.A. To further ensure that our equipments is free of gluten, a specified portion — at the beginning of the run — is not utilized in gluten-free cereals. A sample of the final gluten free product is tested specifically for gluten to 20ppm as per regulatory requirements for gluten free products in North America. We are confident that our gluten free products are ACCEPTABLE for those following a gluten free diet” (email: 10 May 2011).
  • OrganicVille: ”Organicville’s condiments are USDA certified organic, gluten free, dairy free, vegan, and contain no added sugar” (website: 10 May 2011). “Regarding your question, all our products are gluten free. We are not a gluten free facility.  However, when we make our products, no other products are made that day on the line. We are very strict with cross contamination and have excellent general manufacturing processes. In addition, we have excellent ingredient separation and certification.  All our products except for the relish are certified gluten free by GFCO.org, in addition we test all our products for gluten less than 10ppm” (email: 11 May 2011).
  • Pacific Natural Foods: “We are not a gluten free facility and our products are run on the same line. However, we have strict cleaning practices in place. As part of our overall Quality Assurance Program, we have a Food Allergy Safety Procedure designed to prevent the cross contamination between products that are produced on the same line. Before any products are run in the plant, all allergens used are identified by the Ingredient Assurance Specialist. Equipment is then cleaned thoroughly after allergenic products are produced and before use for another non-allergenic products or products containing different allergens. All allergenic products are scheduled at the end of the day so there is time to clean the equipment before the non-allergenic products are run. All ingredients are kept in their own allotted space and are kept separately from non-allergenic ingredients. Finished products are kept separate from one another too. This is standard for our company and rigorously managed. Pacific Natural Foods wants you to be confident in our ability to provide you and your family with safe and delicious food.” (email 02 May 2011)
  • Pereg Spices: “Our spices are gluten free, all of our spices are pure and we don’t add any additives! Please note although the spices are gluten free, we do have gluten items in the facility” (After a follow up email, I got this response) “The facility is not gluten free, we are working on this and should be in the coming few months” (email: 16 August 2011). 
  • San-J: “San-J’s Gluten Free Products are not manufactured in a dedicated gluten
    free facility.  San-J processes products containing wheat, as well. San-J prevents cross-contamination by thoroughly cleaning and sanitizing equipment and lines after running wheat containing products.  San-J also tests each batch of gluten free product for gluten, using a test that is sensitive to 5 ppm.  Periodically we send samples to an outside
    laboratory for independent testing, as well, to confirm the reliability of our tests.” (email: 27 April 2011)
  • Seeds of Change: “All SEEDS OF CHANGE® Pasta Sauces, Simmer Sauces and Salad Dressings do not have ingredients containing gluten. Some of our Rice & Grain side dishes and Ready-To-Heat Rice do not have ingredients containing gluten. Chocolate Bars are not gluten-free. All SEEDS OF CHANGE® food products are manufactured on production lines which produce items that do contain gluten. In the manufacturing facilities we perform a thorough cleaning of the production lines between production runs (hot water / sterilization / high pressure air). Although we use good manufacturing practices, there is no way we can guarantee that the lines are 100% free from cross contamination. Good Manufacturing Practices or GMPs is a term that is recognized worldwide for the control and management of manufacturing and quality control testing of foods and pharmaceutical products. GMPs are enforced in the United States by the U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA).” (website 02 May 2011)
  • Snyder’s of Hanover: “The gluten free pretzels are not manufactured in a gluten-free facility however we have a very stringent allergen program in place and they are a certified product” [certified to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten]: (email: 09 June 2011).
  • South River Miso: “We make ten kinds of miso.  Only the 2 varieties with barley in their names contain barley. The other 8 contain no gluten ingredients. The barley varieties are made in the same building, using the same equipment as the other varieties with no gluten.  The miso is made in batches and so miso containing barley is not being made at the same time as a non-gluten miso The equipment is washed thoroughly between batches” (email: 14 June 2011). 
  • Teavana: Allysa, my dedicated blog reader wrote, “I deleted the e-mail, but I asked Teavana if their products are gluten free/made in a gluten free facility, and they basically said they can’t guarantee a completely gluten free status for their facility.” (Email: 13 April 2011)
  • Teeny Tiny SpicesAll of our raw spices are certified organic and come to us labeled as gluten free.  Our organic coffee (Perfection Blend),  organic maple sugar and salt are not labeled as gluten free, but I have no reason to think that there is any gluten in them.  Our production facility is not certified gluten free nor do we have any specific gluten-free protocol, but we do not have any gluten products in that room (our production facility is a certified organic and state health department licensed room in our home), nor do we produce any products with gluten.  So, if you are avoiding gluten for any reason other than an anaphylactic reaction, I would feel very comfortable with any of our products.  I only qualify the anaphylactic reaction since our home is not gluten free and I am not sure what exactly goes into guaranteeing that a product is 100% infallibly gluten-free (email: 09 June 2011).
  • WestbraeWhile we do not have a gluten free facility, we do have very strict allergen controls and follow excellent manufacturing practices to minimize any cross contact possibilities. Both major and minor ingredients of all products, as well as all processing procedures and equipment, are closely scrutinized and all potential allergen issues as determined by the Hain Celestial Group are declared on our labeling. We assure you that strict manufacturing processes and procedures are in place and that all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation” (email: 31 May 2011).
  • Woodstock Farms: “We recognize people have sensitivities to wheat and gluten. Our nut butters are produced in multiple facilities, therefore it is important to check the labels…Woodstock Organic & Natural Nut Butters packed in glass jars are produced in a gluten-free facility. Woodstock Organic Easy Spread Nut Butters packed in PET jars are not produced in a gluten-free facility. Any further questions, please contact our customer service department at: info@woodstock-foods.com ” (website: 10 May 2011). 



PENDING: 
Coconut Secret
South River Miso

Cedarlane
Enjoy Life
Go Raw
Schar


Sample email:


Email sent to Glutino on 08 May 2011:

My first question is: Are your gluten-free products manufactured in a gluten-free facility (you mention that you test to make sure that the gluten levels are below 20ppm, which causes me concern).

My second concern is GMO soy and corn. My girls love your chocolate and yogurt covered pretzels. However, both identify soy lecithin and corn starch among the list of ingredients, but neither state that they are either organic or non-GMO causing me great concern. I must assume that any corn or soy ingredient is genetically engineered if it doesn’t state otherwise and ultimately refuse to purchase that questionable product.

Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

Warmest regards,
Priscilla Matuson

Follow gfveganmomknows on Twitter

12 Comments

  1. I purchased Sunstart Chocolate Chip Cookies the other day and besides being delicious, on the back the box says they are “gluten, wheat, egg free” and on their website they state, “Sunstart USA desserts and cookies are all tenderly baked to perfection in a fully dedicated allergen/wheat FREE state of the art facility. *Also a nut free facility. All products are FREE FROM Gluten, Wheat, Egg, and Hydrogenated Fats and Oils.”

    I did not e-mail them to see if the soy-lecithin was non-GMO, however there are no claims on the box or website that it is, so I’m assuming it is not.

  2. Wow! Great thorough list…we have a few other brands out here but not certain if they are carried nationally…look forward to chatting and comparing lists!

  3. I just received email statement from Frontier Coops today and they have not pursued becoming a gluten free facility as they’d mentioned to you…Let me know if you want a copy of the way they worded their info. I think they claim to have some mixes maybe that are safe but it was not the info. I wanted to hear from them.

  4. I have noticed that some of my gluten intolerance symptoms have been popping up again although I am eating gluten free now for the past year. I am trying to isolate what is causing this, which is how I stumbled across your blog. Thank you so much for all this hard work and information!! You are incredible!! Quick question about one company, I eat applegate farms GF frozen foods, have you ever emailed them to find out about their food and facilities?

  5. So good to know about Lundberg. Although I have not made the decision whether to eat rice or not, I will most likely order this type of rice so in the event I eat a bite, I won’t go nuts!

  6. Rice is the only grain that I eat and I only eat it what I order garden rolls when I go out to eat. However, this week (my birthday week), I went out to eat three night and then made veggie sushi with Lexie (so 4 out of 6 nights I ate small amounts of rice), and I came to find undigested rice (I’ll spare you the details)… Needless to say, I know I should give up rice, but I voweled not to eat it more than one a week and only when dining out. Giving up grains was a bit difficult, but I’m holding onto small amounts of rice because my favorite meal at my favorite restaurant (one of two that is safe to eat at and the only one that has a yummy mostly raw meal) contains a small amount of rice. However, if I continue to experience negative symptoms after eating rice, I will have to give it up for good. I too won’t go nuts when eating rice. :)

  7. I could swear that Nature’s Path packaging states it is made in a gluten free facility for their gluten free products.

  8. I’m vegan and i always attend the Vegan party food. There all members got the current list of vegan foods. For this year my choosen food was vegan oatmeal raisin cookies.

  9. Thank you. I have re-posted this to Olivia’s Good News Cafe on Face Book. We try to cater to people with food concerns. We try to use locally grown food and if we do not know the supplier we try very hard that it be certified organic. We also always have gluten free options including vegan gluten free options. You know how difficult this must be. It involves constant vigilance and constant learning. One thing we struggle with is sandwich bread. We like to give a gluten free option for our sandwiches but the best tasting bread we’ve found is Udi’s but with research have found issues with it. Any better alternatives that taste good?
    One of our goals is to assist people in their food choices. We appreciate sites like yours where we can learn as well as pass information on to our friends. Thank you again.

    • I eat gluten-free and the best sandwich bread I have found is made by Canyon Bakehouse based in Colorado. It is moist and delicious. Ate it right out of the bag – didn’t have to toast it or grill it! They also make hamburger buns and fococcia bread that are both gluten-free.

  10. This list is extremely helpful! Thank you so much! My husband was recently diagnosed with Celiac Disease and it has been overwhelming, to say the least. I am still looking for a line of organic certified gluten free spices.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.